Zenfolio | Desborough & Rothwell Photographic Society | Blog

Desborough & Rothwell Photographic Society News

2018 Beyond Group Exhibition

August 13, 2018  •  Leave a Comment

In the colour section of the 2018 Beyond Group National Exhibition Steve Rappitt had his two images "Jet Ski Riders" and "Lost In Thoughts" accepted, as did Trevor Rudkin with "The Chase"


"The Chase""The Chase"

2018 Wyvern International Salon Successes

August 06, 2018  •  Leave a Comment

Congratulations to Derek Buckett for having five of his images accepted in the 2018 Wyvern International Salon, namely "The Gamekeeper And The Squire", "Strike A Pose", "Morning Read", Caught By The Light, Ripon Cathedral" and "Carnival Time, San Marco". Congratulations also to Rosemary Buckett for having her "Checking The Luggage", "Saying Goodbye" and "Left On The Peg" accepted.







South Devon Salon 2018

August 04, 2018  •  Leave a Comment

Success at the 2018 South Devon Salon for Derek Buckett's "A Passing Chat" and Rosemary Buckett's "Chance Meeting" both being accepted.


"A Passing Chat""A Passing Chat"


"Chance Meeting""Chance Meeting"

Winchester National Exhibition 2018

July 25, 2018  •  Leave a Comment

Trevor Rudkin had his "Bride With Attitude" image accepted in the People section of the 2018 Winchester National Exhibition and Rosemary Buckett had her "Emerging Through The Steam" accepted in the Pictorial section.


"A Bride With Attitude""A Bride With Attitude"


"Emerging Through The Steam""Emerging Through The Steam"

2018 Midland Salon

July 14, 2018  •  Leave a Comment

In the Open Monochrome section of the 2018 Midland Salon Derek Buckett had "Final Kiss" accepted, as did Trevor Rudkin with "Country Gentleman". Trevor also had "Ragged Tulips" accepted in the Open Colour section.


"Final Kiss""Final Kiss"

"Country Gentleman""Country Gentleman"


"Ragged Tulips""Ragged Tulips"OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

"Malcolm's Meanders" - Malcolm Ranieri FRPS

June 23, 2018  •  Leave a Comment

Malcolm Ranieri FRPS is well known for his photographs of steam engines, having had many books published on the subject in addition to gaining exhibition acceptances and awards with his images. On Friday 22nd June he brought along a collection of prints to members of the Desborough and Rothwell Photographic Society to illustrate his talk “Malcolm’s Meanders”. The tremendous depth and breadth of his knowledge and experience was illustrated with prints made from large format colour slides to his current work from digital files, from preserved railways in Great Britain to railways in South Africa, Cuba, USA and what was then East Germany. Although his love of steam predominated he did show his versatility with many other subjects covered, including portraiture, cars, buses, trams, sport and studio work. The talk was delivered in a light hearted and humorous manner. Chairman John Spowart thanked Malcolm for a very entertaining and informative evening of excellent photography.


"Lightroom For Everyone" by Nat Coalson ARPS

June 15, 2018  •  Leave a Comment

Nathaniel Coalson ARPS is an American photographer, artist and designer living in England. In addition to running photographic tours and workshops he also writes instructional books on photography. He is an Adobe Certified Expert in Lightroom, and on Friday 15th June 2018 he came to the Desborough and Rothwell Photographic Society to give a presentation “Lightroom for Everyone”. After explaining how the Lightroom file management system worked he moved on to demonstrate the power of the computer-based software (now called “Lightroom Classic”) to batch process, develop and export images. He concluded with a brief look at Lightroom CC, which stores images in Adobe Cloud so they can be accessed anywhere that has a broadband connection, and is largely aimed at the smartphone photographer as well as the laptop user. The presentation gave a good insight to the software for those members present who have never used it and prompted many questions which Nathaniel took time to carefully answer. Even those who have used Lightroom for some time picked up many useful hints and tips. Chairman John Spowart thanked Nathaniel for a well presented and interesting talk which would hopefully encourage more members to try Lightroom.


Three Faces of Italy

May 25, 2018  •  Leave a Comment

Mandy Sherrington and Colin Machin of Sileby Photographic Society fell in love with Italy several years ago, and the result of their subsequent visits was a presentation entitled “Three Faces of Italy” which they gave to members of the Desborough and Rothwell Photographic Society on Friday 1st June. The first part of their talk concentrated on the Apulia region of Italy, including the town of Lecce and the famous trulli houses of Alberobello. The second “Face of Italy” centred on Tuscany, including Pienza and the iconic early morning misty landscapes that region is famous for. Finally, it was the turn of Venice and the neighbouring islands including Mirano and Burano. Chairman John Spowart thanked Mandy and Colin for an excellent evening of top quality travel photography, made particularly interesting because their love of Italy is shared by many of the Society members.

This is the place to keep up with all the latest news from Desborough and Rothwell Photographic Society.  You can also follow us via our Facebook Page.